Dans ces présentations vidéo, vous trouverez David McIlroy qui explore avec énergie, humour et perspicacité un grand nombre de grandes questions et problèmes concernant le christianisme et le droit. D'une série d'introductions à la théologie du droit, aux questions concernant le rôle de l'autorité publique et la manière dont les avocats chrétiens peuvent contribuer de manière constructive sur la place publique, ces présentations vidéo vous aideront à réfléchir profondément et à incarner généreusement ce que signifie servir dans les domaines du droit et de la justice en tant que chrétien.

présentations vidéo

Theology of Law Series

1. What Does the Bible Say About Law and Justice?

This video provides the highest of high level overviews into how law and justice feature in the big picture of reality offered by the Bible. If you want to know more, look at the 10 Part Series on An Introduction to the Theology of Law below.

2. Is an Unjust Law not a Law?

This video looks at the question of how Christians, and others, should think about unjust laws. Are we free to disobey them? What should we do if we are a Christian judge, civil servant, or police officer?

3. Augustine’s contribution to Natural Law

This video introduces the ideas of one of the greatest theologians of all time. Augustine is credited with making the claim that an unjust law is not a law, and for asking the famous question: what is the difference between a kingdom and a band of robbers? This video looks at the enduring relevance of his ideas today.

4. Rawls' Two Principles of Justice

This video introduces one of the most important political philosophers of the twentieth century. John Rawls took a stand against utilitarianism with his theory of justice as fairness, reviving the idea of a social contract as a device to explain his thought. This video introduces you to his key ideas and highlights their limitations.

5. The Connection between Law and Justice in Natural Law Thinking

This video looks at the perennial tradition of natural law. Natural law claims that good laws should reflect, apply and respond to the moral order in creation. What does that claim mean for the connection between positive laws and justice? Can that connection ever be broken, and if so, how?

vision du monde

Qui les lois européennes considèrent-elles comme des êtres humains ?

la théologie systématique et biblique

Série en 10 parties sur une introduction à la théologie du droit

Si vous cherchez à vous familiariser avec la grande histoire de la Bible sur le droit et la justice, vous la trouverez ici. Dans dix vidéos de 15 minutes, David McIlroy examine la manière dont le droit et la justice sont présentés dans la Bible, depuis la création décrite dans la Genèse jusqu'au jugement final promis dans l'Apocalypse.

justice

Comment la Bible définit-elle la justice ?

Quelle est la vision de Dieu sur la justice - Forum des dirigeants chrétiens

Quelles sont les implications pratiques de la vision de Dieu sur la justice - Forum des dirigeants chrétiens

Comment la vision de Dieu de la justice est-elle supérieure à celle de notre culture ?

L'Évangile et l'État de droit

Bien que la Réforme ait libéré l'Église de l'obsession du droit religieux, ce n'est pas un hasard si l'État de droit s'est développé le plus fortement dans les pays dont la culture a été touchée par l'Évangile. Cet atelier examine comment l'évangile a contribué à la promotion de l'état de droit et comment l'état de droit crée des libertés, la possibilité d'un épanouissement humain généralisé et des opportunités pour la proclamation de l'évangile.

Le rôle de l'autorité publique

Quelle est la vision de Dieu sur le gouvernement ? Quel est son rôle propre et quelles sont ses limites ? Et quelles sont les implications pour nous, en tant qu'avocats engagés dans l'administration de la justice ? Dans cette courte vidéo, David McIlroy explore le mandat biblique donné au gouvernement et la manière dont il devrait affecter la façon dont nous considérons notre travail quotidien en tant qu'avocats.

Qu'est-ce qu'une bonne loi ? - Forum des dirigeants chrétiens

droits de l'homme

Quels sont les "droits" pour lesquels les chrétiens doivent se battre ? - Forum des dirigeants chrétiens

La théologie et la philosophie des droits de l'homme

Dans cet exposé, David McIlroy compare les comptes rendus laïques des droits de l'homme avec la compréhension chrétienne des intérêts que les théories des droits de l'homme cherchent à protéger.

Comment le christianisme a-t-il influencé les droits de l'homme ? - Forum des dirigeants chrétiens

Dans cet exposé, David McIlroy explore les façons dont le christianisme a influencé le développement des droits de l'homme et soutient que l'idée de droits de l'homme pour tous aurait été inconcevable sans l'exemple de Jésus-Christ et les arguments développés par les chrétiens.

Les droits de l'homme sont-ils pour tous ? Université d'Helsinki, 14 mars 2016

Débat entre David McIlroy et Kevät Nousiainen

Dans cette vidéo du Forum Veritas, David McIlroy discute de l'idée des droits de l'homme, de leur étendue et de leur relation avec le christianisme avec le professeur finlandais Kevät Nousiainen.

Les droits de l'homme sont-ils pour tous ? Université de Jyväskylä, 17 mars 2016

Débat entre David McIlroy, Jukka Viljanen et Paul Abbey

Dans cette vidéo du Forum Veritas, David McIlroy discute de l'idée des droits de l'homme avec le professeur Jukka Viljanen et l'homme politique Paul Abbey.

droit et moralité

Peut-on fonder la moralité publique sur la Bible dans une société qui rejette son autorité ?

banque et économie

Réponse au rapport sur la création d'argent, 5 décembre 2016, St Botolph-without-Aldersgate, Londres

Crumbling Foundations est un rapport de recherche qui explore la nature et le but de l'argent, avant de comparer et de contraster notre système moderne avec le système biblique. La façon dont nous créons la monnaie aujourd'hui - impliquant une interaction complexe entre les banques centrales et commerciales, les espèces électroniques et physiques - est très éloignée de l'utilisation de l'argent et du grain comme monnaie dans la Bible. Néanmoins, les principes de la Bible s'appliquent toujours à la création de systèmes monétaires qui sont à la fois justes et adaptés à leurs objectifs. Dans la Bible, l'argent était un outil relationnel : une sorte de colle sociale destinée à renforcer les relations et à maintenir les communautés ensemble. Elle est trop importante pour être appropriée ou monopolisée par les banques et les gouvernements, qui l'utilisent essentiellement comme un moyen d'extraire de la valeur des citoyens. La création centralisée de monnaie fiduciaire présente des avantages, mais aussi de sérieux risques. La monnaie basée sur la dette et les intérêts et l'inflation entraînent des conflits d'intérêts entre les émetteurs de monnaie et ceux qui l'utilisent, ce qui compromet la finalité de la monnaie d'un point de vue biblique.

l'église et l'état

Les chrétiens doivent-ils chercher des lois qui reflètent la justice de Dieu ?

Comment l'Église doit-elle penser à l'État ? - Forum des dirigeants chrétiens

prendre contact

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les documents disponibles sur ce site, réserver une intervention de David McIlroy ou si vous avez d'autres questions, veuillez remplir le formulaire ici et nous vous répondrons rapidement.

In these video presentations you will find David McIlroy exploring many of the big questions and issues regarding Christianity and the law with energy, humour and insight. From an introductory series on the Theology of Law, to issues concerning the role of public authority and how Christian lawyers can constructively contribute in the public square, these video presentations will help you think deeply about and embody generously what it means to serve in the areas of law and justice as a Christian.

video presentations

worldview

'Who do European laws think human beings are?' - Forum for Christian Leaders

systematic and biblical theology

10 Part Series on An Introduction to the Theology of Law

If you are looking to get to grips with the Bible’s big story about law and justice, you will find it here. In ten 15 minute videos, David McIlroy looks at the way in which law and justice feature throughout the Bible from the creation described in Genesis to the final judgment promised in Revelation.

justice

'How does the Bible define justice?' - Forum of Christian Leaders

'What is God's view of justice?' - Forum of Christian Leaders

'What are the practical implications of God's view of justice?' - Forum of Christian Leaders

'How is God's view of justice superior to our culture's?' - Forum of Christian Leaders

‘The Role of the Public Authority’

What is God’s view of government? What is its proper role and what are its limits? And what are the implications for us as lawyers engaged in the administration of justice? In this short video, David McIlroy explores the biblical mandate given to government and how it should affect the way we view our day-to-day work as lawyers.

‘What is a good law?’ - Forum of Christian Leaders

human rights

'What "rights" should Christians fight for? - Forum of Christian Leaders

The Theology and Philosophy of Human Rights

In this talk, David McIlroy compares the secular accounts of human rights with the  Christian understanding of the interests which human rights theories seek to protect.

How has Christianity influenced Human Rights? - Forum of Christian Leaders

In this talk, David McIlroy explores the ways in which Christianity has influenced the development of human rights, and argues that the idea of human rights for all would have been inconceivable were it not for the example of Jesus Christ and for arguments developed by Christians.

‘Are Human Rights for All?, University of Helsinki, 14 March 2016

Debate between David McIlroy and Kevät Nousiainen

In this Veritas Forum video, David McIlroy discusses the idea of human rights, their extent, and their relationship to Christianity with Finnish professor Kevät Nousiainen.

‘Are Human Rights for All?, University of Jyväskylä, 17 March 2016

Debate between David McIlroy, Jukka Viljanen and Paul Abbey

In this Veritas Forum video, David McIlroy discusses the idea of human rights with Professor Jukka Viljanen and politician Paul Abbey.

law and morality

'Can we base public morality on the Bible in a society that rejects its authority?' - Forum of Christian Leaders

banking and economics

‘Response to the Money Creation Report’, 5 December 2016, St Botolph-without-Aldersgate, London

Crumbling Foundations is a research report that explores the nature and purpose of money, before comparing and contrasting our modern system with the biblical one. The way we create money now – involving a complex interplay between central and commercial banks, electronic and physical cash – is a far cry from the Bible’s use of silver and grain as currencies. Nevertheless, the Bible’s principles have ongoing application in creating monetary systems that are both just and fit for purpose. Money in the Bible was a relational tool: a kind of social glue designed to strengthen relationships and hold communities together. It is too important to be appropriated or monopolised by banks and governments, which essentially use it as a way of extracting value from citizens. There are advantages to centrally-created ‘fiat’ money, but also serious risks. Debt- and interest-based money and inflation entail conflicts of interest between issuers of money and those who use it, compromising the purpose of money from the biblical perspective.

church and state

'Should Christians seek laws that reflect God's justice?' - Forum of Christian Leaders

get in touch

If you want to know anything more about the materials on this website, to book David McIlroy to speak, or you’ve got any other question, please fill out the form here and we shall get back to you speedily.